Sir Thomas More on Richard Rich

Can it, therefore, seem likely to your Lordships, that I should, in so weighty an Affair as this, act so unadvisedly as to trust Mr. Rich, a man I had always so mean an opinion of, in reference to his truth and honesty, that I should only impart to Mr Rich the secrets of my conscience in respect to the King’s Supremacy, the particular secrets, and only point about which I have been so long pressed to explain myself? I never did, nor never would reveal, either to the King himself, or any of his Privy Councillors, as is well known to your Honours, who have been sent upon no other account at several times by his Majesty to me in the Tower. I refer it to your judgments, my Lords, whether this can seem credible to any of your Lordships.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.