A Faith Perspective

Several years ago I saw a joke in a faith magazine, it was a cartoon. In the cartoon there were two priests, representing two different faith groups or denominations. For the sake of this written piece, it doesn’t matter whether they were two Christians of differing denominations or representatives of two different faiths altogether.

The first priest turning to the second said; ‘The difference between you and me, is that I worship God my way and you worship God your way.’ The second priest, smiling while looking at the first said; ‘The difference between you and I, is that you worship God your way and I worship God his way.’

If you are smiling and identifying with the second priest, your arrogance and self assurance has got the better of you. You have successfully identified yourself as one of a narrow mind. You are one of those unfortunate people who is near incapable, of listening to those of an alternative opinion and you should perhaps avoid interfaith dialogue.

© DBG 20/10/2021.