Reporting a sexual assault at work: my experience as a nurse

This is the text of my own work from the online version of the Nursing Standard, as published by the Royal Collage of Nursing on the 23rd of February 2023. This in the abridged and heavily edited version of ‘Witness of the Prosecution’ (link at the end of this post) and is presented as a comparison in approach to publication.

*****

A few years ago, something disturbing happened while I was at work that set off a chain of unusual events.

I was tired after a long shift, walking through a hospital corridor on my way to the exit when I saw what looked like a man and woman in an intimate embrace – he was clearly fondling her breasts. Strange behaviour in a hospital, I thought.

Reporting an assault witnessed in a hospital

However, as I drew closer, I realised this was no courting couple. The man was older, perhaps in his late sixties or early seventies. His companion was not a woman at all, but appeared to be a young teenager with a learning disability. I felt nauseated and disgusted.

I had no doubt I had just witnessed a sexual assault on a vulnerable child. As they walked past and I processed what I had seen, I noticed a colleague nearby. From her expression, I could tell she had witnessed the same thing. I stopped to talk to her and we discussed what to do next. We knew that we could not ignore what we had seen and we had to act.

‘I had just witnessed a sexual assault on a vulnerable child. I felt nauseated and disgusted’

We tried to follow the pair but we had lost them, so we went to the reception desk and called the security office. They took our details and a brief statement over the phone. They assured me they would contact the police and that the hospital’s CCTV footage would be reviewed.

A few days later, a plain clothes officer from the child protection division of the county’s police service sat in my living room taking my statement. I went through everything I could remember. The CCTV footage had been retrieved and was now in the hands of the police: the man had been identified. I discovered later that the girl he had assaulted was a pre-adolescent family member who had a learning disability.

Our evidence could put a man behind bars – it felt overwhelming

Over the next few months, I began to prepare for a court appearance as a witness and concurrently experienced the stirrings of an emotional crisis. Despite the man’s clear guilt, the responsibility of my actions began to feel like a weight. The evidence I gave could put a man behind bars and ruin his life. It felt overwhelming.

My friends reassured me I was doing the right thing. They pointed out that this man was responsible for his actions and that I was protecting the child and goodness knows who else from a predatory paedophile. It was good to hear. To have it confirmed.

As the trial dates approached I was disappointed with the lack of support from the trust. Everything was left in the hands of my lead sister, which was hardly fair on her. There were no courtesy telephone calls from a matron or our own legal team. All the more astonishing bearing in mind the incident took place in the hospital itself. Any witness support I had came via the Crown Prosecution Service, whose professionalism was outstanding.

To my surprise, when it comes to time off work, being a witness in court is not the same as jury service. Rather than being granted leave, I had to apply for two weeks’ annual leave.

‘Looking back, I have a sense of satisfaction that I helped put this man in jail. I and the other witness acted to protect the victim and others’

In the end I didn’t need to testify in court because the man changed his plea to guilty ahead of the planned trial. He was sentenced to 15 months in prison and placed on the sex offenders’ register.

Looking back on the experience now, I have a sense of satisfaction that I helped put this man in jail. I and the other witness acted to protect the victim and, potentially, others.

My advice to any fellow nurse who witnesses something that doesn’t look or feel right would be trust your instincts and remember your professional duty of care to patients and the public. Remain calm and report the incident to the relevant authorities.

Raise concerns immediately if a person seems vulnerable or at risk

Our Nursing and Midwifery Council code tells us to raise concerns immediately if we believe a person is vulnerable or at risk and needs extra support and protection. The Code also stipulates that we must take part in any investigations or audits relating to others and cooperate with requests to act as a witness in any hearing that forms part of an investigation.

These professional standards of practice are clear.

But, while as a registered nurse I have that professional duty of care, in my view it goes much further than that. We all, as members of society, have a duty of care to look after our fellow humans. This is a moral duty.

I was once asked if I would do the same again? The answer is yes, absolutely.

*****

Original version below:

If you have access to the RCN website or their associated magazines, you will be able to read the edited version direct via the link below:

https://rcni.com/nursing-standard/opinion/comment/reporting-a-sexual-assault-work-my-experience-a-nurse-193486

*****

Tik-Tok Nursing:

https://chatteringmagpie.wordpress.com/2023/09/26/tik-tok-nursing/