Too much objection

‘I will not criticise people for their belief, nor will I criticise people for their lack of belief. I will however, criticise people who may criticise others for their belief or for their lack of belief as that is quite different.’

I wrote the above short paragraph on the 25th of January this year (2024) and it was clearly a response to some news items or similar. Clearly the circumstance of how people object to various things that do not necessarily affect them was on my mind. Unfortunately the specific catalyst that ignited the above thought is lost but it still brings to the fore questions that I should address.

Despite being an admirer of Mary Grant-Seacole, I have little interest in the activities that surround Black History Month. Despite my being an admirer of Oscar Wilde, I have little interest in Gay Pride events. Despite being an admirer of female writers far too numerous to mention, I have little interest in women’s history month. I am not black, I am not homosexual and I am not a women. These statements in no way whatsoever are to be interpreted as being declarations of opposition. They are not even pronouncements of apathy. I absolutely and without any reservation whatsoever, support the principles encapsulated by such initiatives. That isn’t the point and furthermore, some related facts may still on occasion attract my attention.

To quote myself from a previously published post: ‘I am not black but I believe that black people should have equal rights. I am not a woman but I still believe that women should have equal rights. I am not a homosexual, yet I believe that gay men and gay women; should all have equal rights. These statements should not need to be said, it should not be necessary for me to make such a declaration today. Yet we live in a world that sadly requires such obvious statements to be emphasised repeatedly. This is because we live in a world of hatred, bigotry and prejudice.’ The hate-filled world of You-Tube (2022).

The question I ask is really quite simple, why do people object to Black History Month, Gay Pride and Women’s history month when the activities do not directly affect them? This puzzles me. I have no objection to these various initiatives taking place; so why does it bother others? I neither support a football team nor have any interest in the Olympics but I am not going to campaign against either. The objections people express towards the above named leaves me confused and that is because they don’t really convey their objections in an articulate manner.

Of course I may myself being of a liberal disposition, not be inclined to comprehend any objection raised. It could be argued that my mind-set and my own personal worldview, disinclines my ability to understand these opinions. Furthermore, I have in the past served as a representative on a local Interfaith Forum and I have attended several Pagan Pride events. This serves as an illustration of my own personal philosophy.

My somewhat open and broad-minded approach to spirituality does rather predispose me towards a degree of syncretism. I consider that the Truth is too great to be confined within one path but can be found at the heart of all faiths. I regard all faiths (almost without exception), as deserving of a ‘seat at the same table’ and access to a ‘level playing field’ to use modern terminology.

In my opinion and I do acknowledge that many may not value my opinion, yet I am still going to share it. People, the groups mentioned and many others have the right to assert their identity. These groups have the right to celebrate the achievements of their various social groups and the influence members of those groups have had upon our wider society.

This doesn’t of course answer my original question and I am not now in any way certain that it can be answered. What is this objection that people have towards those who may be on a different life journey? For example, I don’t like tattoos or body piercings, so what? All that means is that I am unlikely to have either.

Christians object that others are not Christian; Muslims object that others are not Muslim and both attempt to impose their own ‘laws’ on other social groups. They have no right to do this. Militant atheism is as objectionable as any form of religious fundamentalism. People have the right to faith and the right to practice that faith. People without faith have the right to live in peace. What no one has a right to is the imposition upon others of their own personal religious or political views. That is the point.

Why are people so concerned with how others may live their lives? Why does it anger people so much? Why the distress that others may live a life outside of their own socially accepted normality? These people should concentrate a little more on their own lives and put their own house in order before voicing their objections.

Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ and behold, the log is in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye. Matthew 7:4-5 Legacy Standard Bible (2021).